Dilemma of Digital Donating

I just posted moveon.org raising the issue of whether or not Visa and the other credit card companies will waive the transaction fees on the donations for Haiti here.

And in case you don’t feel like scrolling, I also wrote about donating $10 to Haiti by texting “Haiti” to 90999 here.

Update: As of late Sunday, the American Red Cross had collected pledges of $103 million, about $22 million of which came through a text-messaging program. The NYT reported that the NFL advertisements helped bring in about $500,000 an hour alone.

This being 2010 and there being 350 million people on Facebook, I would be remiss if I didn’t point out all of the Haitian support groups popping up.  They don’t really cost users anything to join other than the waste of time for a few clicks but I wonder how long before these are actually looked into.  I’m looking at the two that specifically state they will donate based on membership.

Ridgefield Responds: Save Jacmel Haiti (80 Members)

For every person that joins I will donate 25 cents to help Haiti (300,000 members)

“I have recently inherited a large sum of money from my great aunt who dies three weeks ago, thus making this possible as I have surplus.” –  Creator Jason Wang

Soccer Stars for Haiti (4100 members)

Offering Relief for Haiti (600 members)

EVERY PERSON THAT JOINS WE WILL DONATE $10 TO HELP PEOPLE IN HAITI! (250,000 members)

“There are no admins left in this group!”

EARTHQUAKE HAITI (280,000 members)
Leave a Reply

