The Original Napster: The Public Library

Two weeks ago I decided that my music library was modestly growing but still severally lacking in a few areas.  Specifically missing are older classics, older albums I had that scratched before I could import them, really good bands that I just haven’t had the time/money to invest in and B-list bands that I enjoy but wouldn’t throw down the $10 or so for a whole album (I hate buying single songs).

At the suggestion of my brilliantly abnormal girlfriend I invested some time visiting the local public library.  Turns out they have a pretty decent CD catalog!  I started borrowing CDs, brining them home and cranking up the stereo bringing home while importing them to my iTunes.  As long as I don’t share the digital files I think that’s allowed, right??

It also got me thinking–libraries are already starting to accumulate digital books, how long until they start acquiring digital music.  The dynamic of borrowing is going to drastically change!

I highly recommend you enhance your music collection by visiting your public library while you can!  Here’s my haul so far:

  1. The Jayhawks – Smile
  2. The Jayhawks – Rainy Day Music
  3. The Jayhawks – Hollywood Town Hall
  4. Phil Collins – Serious Hits…Live!
  5. Monsters of Rock – Platinum Edition
  6. Beastie Boys – Ill Communication [Remastered Edition with bonus disc]
  7. Steve Earle – Guitar Town
  8. U2 – War
  9. U2 – The Unforgettable Fire
  10. Violent Femmes – Violent Femmes
  11. Counting Cows – Recovering the Satellites
  12. Guns N’ Roses – Appetite for Destruction
  13. The Clash – Sandinista! [Discs 1 and 2]
  14. The Clash – London Calling
  15. AC/DC – Back in Black
  16. AC/DC – Backtracks
  17. Van Morrison – Days Like This
  18. Bob Dylan – Time Out of Mind
  19. Bob Dylan – Highway 61 Revisited
  20. George Harrison – Brainwashed
  21. Gomez – Bring It On
  22. TV on the Radio – Dear Science
  23. Dr. John – The Very Best of Dr. John
2 Responses

  1. those are 2 of my favorite U2 albums and are in my top 20 of all time

Leave a Reply

