The anatomy of spam

The following is an unedited piece of spam that a friend got.  I found it rather interesting.

A lot can be presupposed from the reading of this:

  1. The person who wrote it either has very poor grammar OR expects that the type of person who would actually go for it is looking for someone with poor grammar/understanding of English language.
  2. I am going to go out on a limb and say it is someone using Alta Vista because the grammar isn’t slang or rushed, it is just improperly formatted (tense, placement, etc).
  3. The more I read this, the crazier (no matter what their first language is) I think the person is.
  4. It is also odd that her return email is not the same as the email from which the message came–and it specifically says “real”.
  5. I would really like to meet a spammer, through a glass window when they have to answer my questions.

From: rose jones [mailto:rosebabygirl@att.net]
Sent: Monday, April 05, 2010 10:19 AM
Subject: Hello,

Hello,

How are you? I hope you are fine, My name is Miss Rose Jones, I am browsing today and i come across your profile, I decided to write you, my heart is seeking for a true lover that will bring joy and happiness back in my life.I will like you to contact me back soon with my email address (rose21real@yahoo.com) so that i can give you my pictures for you to know whom i am,

I beleieve we can move from here!!! rose.
Remember colour or distance does not matter,but LOVE matters allot in life).
Reply me back with (rose21real@yahoo.com) Waiting for your sweet reply.
Rose

One Response

  1. as the recipient of this original e-mail, i can add…

    6. . poor girl has no idea she’s barking up the wrong tree. “colour or distance” may not matter, but sexual orientation sure is important. oh heeeeeyyy…

Leave a Reply

