Was Jesus a Keynesian?

From The NYT an event led by the conservative broadcaster Glenn Beck was held at the site of Martin Luther King Jr.’s “I Have a Dream” speech exactly 47 years later.

Becky Benson, 56, traveled from Orlando, Fla., because, she said, “we believe in Jesus Christ, and he is our savior.” Jesus, she said, would not have agreed with what she called the redistribution of wealth in the form of the economic stimulus package, bank bailouts and welfare. “You cannot sit and expect someone to hand out to you,” she said. “You don’t spend your way out of debt.”

I mean, I’m sure Jesus believed in property rights as much as the next the guy but I am also pretty sure he said something like this:

“For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.

Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’

And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.'”
(Matthew 25.35-40 ESV)

2 Responses

  1. Lets also reference “render that which is Caeser to Caeser” because the things of this world are not of a concern to Christ; He wasn’t really concerned with goverment structure or their programs (the church fathers and their interpreters became interested). That being said, if He was interested in government I’m pretty sure He would support those that are based in caritas.

    The only argument that this woman or anyone could have presented that I would have found legitimate in relation to religion would have been this: That people believe that a government social safety net mitigates or eliminates the need for personal or individual charity. It doesn’t, but I think some people think, well that’s why we have welfare, or food stamps, or medicare.

  2. I’m not sure why believing Jesus is your savior motivates you to go to a Glenn Beck rally.

    What I would be interested in knowing is what Becky’s current financial situation is.

    If she is gainfully employed, I wonder if she was aware of her proof in the private pudding in her belief in private business spurring growth (her trip to DC) not government stimulus. Although, if she is out of work and presumably paying her way on credit, that she is attempting to spend her way out of debt.

Leave a Reply

