The Economics (or not) of Wearing Hats

There has to be some behavorial economics in here somewhere I just can’t figure out what it is.  Something with signaling, or, er, oh, I don’t know. But, I get it.

Wearing hats that are not baseball caps just feels like it is screaming pretentious.  And yet, when traveling, it is totally cool. Also, when you are Don Draper, totally cool.

Via Transient Travels:

extension mattie

[photo courtesy of Bryce of Extension Mattie]

“”When my girls weekend crew and I were wandering the streets of New Orleans, a strange, yet stylish urge came over me as we went in and out of local shops. I suddenly wanted to buy a hat. So I did, and it was thrilling…

…Yes, I know that a hat is far from considered a ‘risk’ to most, but to me, it’s just not something I feel I can pull off in my day to day life.

When traveling though, I can wear a hat. I can be stylish. I can be anybody.

I wore the hat for the entire trip and told myself that I’d still wear it when I got home. It hasn’t been worn since. All won’t be lost though when I bring it on my next trip and wear it shamelessly.”

One Response

  1. Thanks for the shout 🙂

Leave a Reply

