Unsettling Medical Statistics of the Day

Imagine if 95% of people didn’t know they had…

Via Philly.com

Celiac is an autoimmune disease that afflicts about one in every 133 Americans. But an estimated 95 percent of people who have the disease are either undiagnosed or misdiagnosed.

The disease is activated by the protein gluten, which is found in foods containing wheat, rye or barley, and its symptoms are wide-ranging – fatigue, bloating and gas, canker sores and joint pain. Because symptoms can vary from patient to patient, diagnosis can be difficult.

3 Responses

  1. That is a crazy high statistic! Not sure if I believe the number is 95. I do think that there are a lot of ppl who are “sensitive” to gluten and test negative for the autoimmune portion. I am among that group and it sucks…which is why I had to switch from beer to vodka. Giving up gluten foods was easy but trying to drinking vodka at the same rate I drink beer is an uphill battle.

  2. Did not need to read this today. If I can’t eat gluten AND I’m diabetic? That means there is officially nothing in this world that I can eat.

  3. I mean quantifying the amount of people who aren’t anything is dicey.

    “which is why I had to switch from beer to vodka. Giving up gluten foods was easy but trying to drinking vodka at the same rate I drink beer is an uphill battle.”

    This is fantastic. ACTUALLY, I have a friend who just prefers vodka bu came up a beer drinker. She orders her vodka in a pin glass but asks to only be given (and charged) for a small vodka but with double the tonic/soda etc. Maybe that will help??

    Being a diabetic celiac has got to suck.

Leave a Reply

